Calls, Awards, and Prizes

Call For Papers

Please finde the Call for Papers as downloadable Pdf

The European Business History Association (EBHA) Dissertation Prize

During the 23rd Annual Congress of the European Business History Association, June 22-24, 2022, Madrid, Spain, the EBHA will award a prize for the best dissertation in business history. This dissertation should have been submitted to a European university in the previous three years prior to the hand-in deadline, January 15, 2022. The dissertation can be written in English or in another European language.
Three finalists will be selected from the dissertations submitted for consideration, and the authors will be required to give a presentation based on their dissertations at a plenary session at the EBHA congress in Madrid. The presentation is part of the final assessment. All three finalists will receive a certificate that they have been among the short-listed candidates and will be eligible for reimbursement of part of their travel costs. All three will also be entitled for a waiver of their registration fees for the conference. In addition, the prize winner will receive EUR 500 and a special certificate. The finalists are invited to have written versions of their presentations published in the Newsletter of EBHA. The prize and the travel cost reimbursement fund have been funded by the William Lind Foundation, located in Scotland. The EBHA sincerely thanks this foundation and the Centre for Business History in Scotland (CBHS) for their precious support.

More information at:

Amaury de Vicq (Utrecht University), Exploring the Dynamics of Small and Local Financial Institutions: The Case of the Netherlands, c.1860-1940
Matthijs Degraeve (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Building Brussels: Construction Entrepreneurs in a Transforming Urban Space, 1830-1970
Elin Åström Rudberg (Stockholm University), Sound and Loyal Business: The History of the Swedish Advertising Cartel, 1915–1965

WINNER OF THE EBHA DISSERTATION PRIZE (2019-2021): Matthijs Degraeve (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) Congratulations!

EBHA's Best Paper Prize

Since 2009, EBHA has awarded a prize for the best paper on European business history presented at its annual congress. The prize consists of a certificate and a cash prize of €250.00. The winner will be announced and the prize presented at the annual congress' gala dinner.

Papers that meet all of the following four criteria are eligible:
1) the paper is on European business history; and
2) the paper is related to the congress theme; and
3) the paper adheres to the maximum length; and
4) the paper is uploaded to the conference web site on or before the deadline specified below.

The term “European business history” is defined broadly, but it refers here to the topic of the paper, NOT to the author’s nationality or place of residence.
The procedure for nominating papers is as follows:
• The best paper prize committee for the conference will assess all papers included on the conference web site as a PDF file by the deadline indicated below for eligibility using the criteria outlined above. There is no need for authors, chairs, or discussants to nominate papers.
• Papers will only be considered by the committee if they follow these guidelines:
The paper must be no longer than 20 pages of A4, double spaced, and with a minimum 12-point font size. This amounts to around 6,000 words.
Authors should note that the maximum length includes any references and bibliography. To this may be appended, in addition, tables, graphs, or pictures.
The paper must be uploaded to the conference web site as a PDF file no later than May 31, 2022 in order to be considered. Specified in the submission you are applying to this prize.
• Members of the best paper prize committee are ineligible for the prize.

The best paper prize committee’s decision is final, and it reserves the right not to award a prize in any given year.
Important: All members of the Best Paper Prize Committee are not allowed to discuss their decision outside the committee. The Best Paper Prize Committee will never give any reason for its decisions.

Best Paper Prize Committee 2022: Peter Miskell (Chair), Marten Boon, Alvaro Ferreira da Silva and Maiju Wuokko

WINNER OF THE EBHA BEST PAPER PRIZE 2022: OLA INNSET, for his paper "The Paradox of State Owned Enterprise Hybrids - Achieving political goals after the market turn (2001 – 2021)" Congratulations!